Aerial view of the John James ÌÇÐÄlogo Center

About John James ÌÇÐÄlogo Center at Mill Grove

Learn more about us and what we do.

A Place for History, Art, and Nature

The John James ÌÇÐÄlogo Center at Mill Grove sits on land where John James ÌÇÐÄlogo lived when he first came to America from France in 1803. The historic house still stands and is open to the public, along with a dynamic visitor's center built in 2019.

It was at Mill Grove that ÌÇÐÄlogo developed a technique for drawing birds "from life" that would allow him to become one of the world's best-known wildlife artists. The hundreds of life-size portraits of birds contained in his seminal work The Birds of America helped to bring the wonder of birds to people across the United States. Although ÌÇÐÄlogo did not found the ÌÇÐÄlogo, his work sparked an interest in birds that ultimately inspired men and women to create an organization dedicated to acting on behalf of birds.

The property includes the three-story 1762 farmhouse where ÌÇÐÄlogo lived, miles of trails along the Perkiomen Creek, and a state-of-the-art visitors center, featuring indoor and outdoor exhibits focused on birds, art, and conservation.